2010 Hillerman Mystery Writers Competition

2010 Hillerman Mystery Writers Competition. Special Thanks to Funds for Writers “

The Competition is open to any professional or non-professional
writer, regardless of nationality, who has never been the author
of a published mystery and is not under contract with a publisher
for publication of a mystery. Only one manuscript entry is permitted
per writer. All manuscripts submitted: a) must be original,
previously unpublished works of book length (no less than 220
typewritten pages or approximately 60,000 words) written in the
English language. Murder or another serious crime or crimes is
at the heart of the story and emphasis is on the solution rather
than the details of the crime. The story’s primary setting is the
Southwestern United States, including at least one of the following
states: Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas,
Southern California and/or Utah. If a winner is selected, St.
Martin’s Press will offer to enter into its standard form author’s
agreement with the entrant for publication of the winning manuscript.
After execution of the standard form authors’ agreement by both
parties, the winner will receive an advance against future royalties
of $10,000.”


One thought on “2010 Hillerman Mystery Writers Competition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s