Resurrected and Ready


The Resurrection –

           It has been four months.  Four months since I took a moment to breathe for myself.  Four months since I’d put a pen to paper.  It had been four months since my last day off.   It took me four months to realize that I was on the verge of a burn-out and breakdown. 

How do you know when you have just compiled too much on your plate?  How do you know when you have just bitten off more than you can chew?    We all want to be helpers, we all to show ourselves to be kind, caring, loving of the world philanthropists, super-moms, outstanding students, humanitarian royalty. Guess what though?  We are all human.   We can’t do it all; we can’t always know the right things to say. Most of all, we can’t stop ourselves from being tempted to run for our responsibilities.

For the readers out there, please don’t take this particular post as being overly pious.  I’m not, at least I don’t try to be.   I can be crass, rude, annoyed, hopeless, helpless, and just as every bit human as you are.  Which brings me back to my point.  We, as humans, try to do too much.    When the MN rivers began to flood during the spring, we volunteer to sandbag.  Someone needs diapers, I’ll go.  If a friend in need wants to talk for hours, I’m right there with them.   So when are we going to admit to ourselves that sometimes the stress that we feel is our fault?  Seriously, there are just some things we do to ourselves.

According to my particular translation of the Good Book, it says “The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.”  (1 Corinthians 10:13)  Temptations don’t always mean naughty, although for some of us, yes it is always naughty temptations.  However, what about being tempted to pick up someone from the airport when you really don’t feel like it, yet you volunteer to do it anyway?    Or, what about offering to cat-sit someone’s lovely furry feline knowing dang well you are allergic?

Now, are you really being nice or are you trying to perpetuate the myth that you can and will do it all?  Again, not being overly pious, but it is for these reasons that everyone needs to be resurrected.  Your breakdown may not come after four months like mine.   It may take you years to get there.   However, I realize that we all have one thing in common; we are human.  We are human in the fact that we all want to throw a temper tantrum when our trusty laptop goes down.  We are all human in the fact that when someone mentions another pot luck, you have the overwhelming desire to call in sick that day.  We are all human in the fact if someone asks you “how’s the weather?” one more time you will commit a felony.   Face facts people, we are undeniably, incurably human.

So, what does being human have to do with writing and having too much on your plate?   Simple, it is like I said above, He will show you a way out so that you can endure.  I threw everything off my desk, grabbed a mug of hot cocoa, refused to answer my phone, and did nothing.    To be resurrected, you have to kill something, or die right? So I let my technology driven, always trying to volunteer, gotta be the greatest friend in the world self die.  Just for a day.  That is just a part of my character, I can’t let her go.   Yet, sometimes, she needs to take a back seat and let my more selfish self walk proud and preening every once in a while.

The Ready…

So now, bet on me.  I am ready.  I took a much-needed break, and now you won’t be able to get rid of me… So I’m ready, are you ready?   Let the fun begin!  I will have a new release coming soon, so be on the lookout for that.  I have some great ideas that keep on churning in my head that I am prepared to make happen.  Most of all, I’m ready for whatever comes next.   Stay tuned everyone… great changes are happening.

9 thoughts on “Resurrected and Ready

  1. Yep, Women tend to be the worst when it comes to taking time to ourselves. Always putting someone or something ahead of what we need/want. I’m glad you took that much needed break. I soooo know where you are coming from. I just poured myself a cold frappachino. And I refuse to get up… until I WANT TO. Oh boy, look what you started==the indentation in the couch will be in the shape of my butt. 🙂 Thanks for the post. You now have a new follower.

    Like

  2. I’m so there. Working a FT job, writing in the evenings and trying to keep my family/friends from feeling neglected. Whew! Where did this golden lasso come from? Seriously, I need a break and your post helped me to realize that’s okay. I’m thinking a spa visit is a good investment in my sanity right about now. Recession be damned.

    Like

  3. Nevea, you read my life!! What an open and honest and true post! Why is it we can never say no? I don’t know who made women feel guilty for taking some time for themselves, but they need to be shot. Several times.

    Like

  4. Remember the McDonald’s commercial, You Deserve a Break Today. Well,you did what you had to do. You took a break today. It is a good thing you took a break for yourself before you become broken.

    Like

  5. Nevea, I don’t think I could express how impacting this post was for me right now in my life. You rock, Chica!

    Like

  6. This was a great blog, Nevea! I too have some of the issues you laid out. When I’m not doing something, I start pacing, feel like I’m wasting time. And yes, we do burn out. I need a break too, and as soon as I get one of my manuscripts to the publishers, I’m taking it. lol. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

