Getting Better, All the Time


Can you believe that it has only been one year since I was actually published?  (Thanks Beautiful Trouble Publishing for taking a chance on me.)  Today I stopped and wondered, how do authors improve?   That being said, let me state that writers/authors/songstresses/singers all get better over time.  I don’t think anyone can look back and say they haven’t grown in some way, shape or form.  I don’t want to be the same I was last year, I want to be better.

How do we get better?  Taking criticism for starters is the only way that you can get better.  Some of us may get down in the dumps after being criticized.  I used to be one of those that would sulk and wonder why don’t they like me (cue sad puppy eyes and violin).   After a while, I got tired of hearing the same sad song and decided to let the violin be a fiddle.   I looked at everything with the critical eye and said to myself, yes, this could be better, longer, easier.

So back to my original point; how do we get better?   Run towards everything with fresh eyes and with courage.  We are going to be scared to try new things and we are going to always be skittish to step out of our comfort zone, but do it with courage.   Courage is one of those things that separates the movers and shakers from the wallflowers.

How else do we get better? We listen.   Sometimes the best things you get out of life is when you just shut up and listen.  Say nothing.  Be Silent for a moment and listen, let it come to you.

How am I improving?  I’m writing longer works for one.   I love the short story format,  a lot of yum in a little space.  I realize that sometimes people need, want and earn for a longer work.  I’m trying to do that but to do so in a way that makes me proud of my work and not something that is just long for the sake of being long.

So that was my quick check in… Back to the races people… some of us are chained to our laptops .

4 thoughts on “Getting Better, All the Time

  1. Growth is critical, lady. You’re right, and to achieve it one must be fearless and willing to not only take the knocks and bumps that come with advancing a skill set, but be willing to recover and move on in spite of them.

    Like

  2. I learn from critiques as well. I also read all I can, not just novels, but books on the craft of writing. (I love Noah Lukeman’s book, The first five pages) .

    Yeah, at the beginning of my writing career, I was sensitive to critiques too, Nevea, but over time, I gleaned so much knowledge from other authors.

    Keep on writing–every day. Yeah, even if it is a blog post, a poem, a little paragraph, just keep the creative flow going. I wish you all the best in your writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

