REVIEW – Elixir of Wife (Dux Ducis Book 1) by Jeanie Johnson and Jaya Leigh


Elixir of Wife - To Buy, Click the Cover
Elixir of Wife – To Buy, Click the Cover

I was smart with this one.  Anything written by the duo of Johnson and Leigh, well, a woman needs to be prepared.  I had my night all planned out, a bottle of Ecco Domani Moscato, 3 chocolates, each picked out specifically by my mate.  After pouring us each a glass, I gave him the look.  You know, the look that says I’m about to read, please don’t breathe in my direction until I’m done sighing to myself and have put away the reading apparatus and glasses.

Let me tell you something about this book here, if you don’t love chocolate by the end of it, see a therapist; a good chocolate therapist.   Not only do they describe some of the most sin-inducing chocolate truffles in this book that made my mouth water, the things Nerva Imperatores does with this chocolate made me almost jealous.  I say almost because my mate likes to read on these things every once in a while and I’m not about to get paddled.

You see, Nerva Imperatores is a genius, a financial whiz, yet his way with chocolate is what has garnered his fame, and the attention of a choco-a-holic  named Sorpresa Venetia.   Now Sorpresa, have you ever met a character that you wonder, is this me, or perhaps a relative of mine?   There is a line in the book that sums it all up about Sopresa and Nerva:  “Originally, she’d only wanted Nerva for what he could do with cocoa and sugar but now she wanted him for what he could do to her heart: make it damn near beat out of her chest.”

Nerva was convinced he was setting up his Sopresa for someone else.  He’d convinced himself she was the perfect match, just not for him.    However, the way she barged into his life, demanded his chocolate, his time and his ear, he couldn’t help but to fall for her.  Yet, he’d already set in motion a plan that meant  Sopresa wasn’t his.

Jeanie Johnson and Jayha Leigh always make a book worth the time it takes to read it.   The males are always so alpha they make you sweat just reading their names.  The women are strong and fearless and have no problem going for what they want, especially if  what they want is their man.

This book made me want two things:  to find a piece of chocolate that makes me want to do half the things that Nerva did with his chocolate, and to try to patiently wait for the Dux Ducis 2.

To buy the book, click that hot cover above, or take a browse around on: www.beautifultroublepublishing.com 

Leave a Reply

